Defending You Against DUI Charges

Virginia takes DUI charges seriously. Even first-time offenders can face severe punishments and lifelong consequences. If you face DUI charges in Roanoke or Salem, you need to contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible to get started on your case.

Whether it’s to keep your record clean or to mitigate damages, it’s important that you have a trustworthy, experienced attorney by your side. Our DUI attorneys at OPN Law have over 100 years of combined experience defending clients against damaging charges. We have spent years working in this area and are familiar with the local prosecutors and judges, as well as the best ways to present cases that protect your rights.

Protecting Your Rights And Your License

In Virginia, you can face driving under the influence charges if you drive while having a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or above or if you are under the influence of drugs. To determine intoxication, the officer who pulls you over can administer a sobriety test. These tests often include a walk-and-turn test, asking you to stand on one leg and a Horizontal gaze nystagmus test.

However, you do not have to consent to a field sobriety test in Virginia, and there are no penalties for refusing one. The officer may also give you a breath test to determine your blood alcohol level. If you refuse to take a chemical breath test, you could face a mandatory license suspension.

If convicted of a DUI, the penalties will depend on whether this is your first offense and any aggravating factors, such as being underage or driving with a child in the vehicle. For a first-time offender, you will face a Class 1 misdemeanor with a jail sentence of up to one year and a fine of up to $2,500. In some cases, the court will order you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle instead of jail time.

Subsequent DUI convictions in the same five-to-ten-year period can result in longer jail sentences and expensive fines. A second conviction can also result in a three-year license revocation, while a third DUI can cause you to lose your license indefinitely.

Get Started On Your DUI Defense Today

If you face a DUI conviction, you do not have time to waste. Our attorneys will look at all the facts of your case to determine the best possible defense for you. A DUI conviction can have lasting effects on your life and your freedom. Don’t risk your future by representing yourself; call us today and find out how we can help you. Contact us and schedule a consultation to get started on your defense. You can reach us at 540-989-0000 or by filling out our online contact form.

Hablamos Español | 我们说中文